In New York, the car’s insurance company must pay up to $50,000 of your lost wages and medical bills if you were the driver or passenger in a car accident. No-fault insurance is referred to as and is mandated by New York State law. All auto insurance policies issued in New York must include at least $50,000 in personal injury protection (PIP).
Get in touch with the esteemed attorneys of Sullivan & Galleshaw if you’ve been injured in a Queens car accident.
Am I covered for car accidents in Queens?
Generally, this insurance covers injury that is caused by an accident that falls under the definition of “covered accident”. The term “covered person” refers to an owner, operator, or passenger of a vehicle. You are also covered if a car injures you while you are walking or cycling.
It is significant to understand that you are not protected if you ride a motorcycle or are a passenger.
What Is Covered by No-Fault Insurance?
Basic no-fault auto insurance in New York State will cover the following:
- Medical costs for accident injuries that were necessary and fair, as well as fees for rehabilitation
- Your first three years of lost wages are covered at 80% up to a monthly cap of $2,000 per month.
- An additional $25 a day for up to one year can be granted for expenses related to the accident, such as housekeeping or transportation to doctor’s appointments.
- If a covered person is killed in a car accident, their estate will get a $2,000 death benefit.
According to the majority of plans, a person who meets any of the following conditions won’t be qualified for no-fault automobile insurance coverage following a collision:
- DUI-related driving
- Intentionally provoking the collision and their physical harm.
- Riding a motorbike or an ATV, either as the driver or a passenger
- Harmed while performing a crime
- Intentionally injuring yourself while riding or operating a stolen vehicle.
- A driver of an uninsured car
How to qualify for no-fault benefits?
You must contact the insurance company immediately following the collision if you want to be eligible for no-fault benefits. You will receive a no-fault application to fill out in order to submit a claim after notifying the carrier that the accident happened and that you were injured. No-fault benefits can only be claimed if this application is returned within 30 days after the accident.